Wedding Makeup Inspiration

I’m having a bit of a hard time trying to find wedding makeup inspiration.  I guess I’m trying to go for a “me but better” approach – a glowier, luminescent, hopefully slightly more tanned me.  P hates makeup with a vengeance – which is just as well because I’m generally too lazy to apply it, but for my wedding day I want to make an exception, and I want to do it without looking too much like a drag queen.

I’ve found a couple of pictures that I like, but when I googled “wedding makeup inspiration”, I kept finding girls who’ve applied way too much fake tan, their fake lashes insanely obvious and whose eyes bug out.  I really want to do my own makeup myself, so I’m planning to go to a makeup counter (Mecca, MAC, Shu Uemura, Bobbi Brown?  Any suggestions?) and get a tutorial but I need to take them something first!

I like these pictures below, but I need to find something more zazzy, as Sheldon Cooper would say.  Got any suggestions?

makeup_046_10_m makeup_3_m rouge-dior-nude4678858220716475464

Image credits – 1, 2, 3

12 comments
  1. The look in the second picturee , making it a little more glowy would look awesome if you have day time wedding !

    • i love the idea of glow! definitely not “shimmer” per say, but i love the look of glowing from within. i’m not a huge makeup person so i kind of have no idea…eek!

      • There’s always a first time and a start. You can try it before your wedding day. A little glowy sin would appear gorgeous in photographs.

      • i’m also worried about weather effects – we’re getting married in the summer in a beach setting, and i’m hoping that i won’t be crying like a sissy girl or sweating my makeup off! maybe i’ll just take all my photos in the hotel in my airconditioned room lol. thanks for the tips! my plan is to get a lesson and practice, practice, practice!!!

      • Yeah thats better 🙂 Goodluck for your Bigday !

      • thank you! i’m going to need all the help i can get 🙂 🙂

  2. I have my make up trial in June and already I’m panicking that I won’t look like me when I walk down the aisle lol! With regard to make up counters I’d say Laura Mercier or Bobbi Brown would be the best for a “me but better” look xx

    • oh wow, thank you so much for those recommendations! i love the look of bobbi brown campaigns, so i might have to saunter on over. best of luck with your makeup trial. have you got much inspiration?

  3. indi said:

    I wouldnt recommend doing your makeup yourself. Just find a makeup artist who can give you the look you want.

    You don’t have to be an orange drag queen! :p

    • haha i’m very particular with my makeup (and with everything, actually!) and don’t trust even professionals – last time i did that for my hair and makeup at my formal, it didn’t go so well lol. even my regular hairdresser, who i love to BITS, when he tries to curl my hair he can’t do it right! i guess if you want something done, you have to do it yourself! hehe

  4. Brielle said:

    I love the first and second ones the best. I hardly ever wear makeup so for my wedding I would like to look as natural as possible. I think I will show this page to my mobile makeup artist and she can tweak it for my skin. Thanks so much for posting this and giving me the idea!

    • thank you so much for visiting my blog! it’s so hard to strike that balance of looking natural, especially when you’re not used to wearing makeup, but these days there’s so many great products out there…we just have to find it! Best of luck for your wedding!

Leave a Reply

