Happy Monday with a bit of Monday Blues

Is anyone else experiencing Monday Blues this morning?  I don’t usually experience Monday Blues too badly, but after a perfect weekend like the one just passed, I’m having serious withdrawals.  Did you do anything exciting?  Here are a few bits of my weekend.

A rustic pumpkin pie on Friday night, accompanied with a glass of chardonnay and episodes of How I Met Your Mother.  It’s not pretty, or glamorous-looking, but it sure hit the spot.  Just roughly chop pumpkin, roast with olive oil and paprika, pile onto a thawed sheet of puff pastry (you don’t have to eggwash the sides but I find it gives a better look and it puffs better) and voila!

Oyster verjuice shots by Maggie Beer and a matching glass of Pinot Gris.  The Good Food and Wine Show was so much fun – we found our niche ih the Barossa Vineyards section, which was just across from the Cheese Alley.  I bought about $50 worth of gourmet artisan cheese, and some of the most delicious butter I ever tried.  I literally felt like Natalie Portman’s character in V for Vendetta when V made her eggy in a basket and she exclaimed, “I haven’t had real butter since I was a little girl!”.  You get to meet the most lovely people at the Show, who are so passionate about food and manufacturing it, and they genuinely get a kick out of people enjoying their product.  As a serious foodie, I get so much pleasure watching producers explain their wares – almost as much pleasure as I get eating it!

Finally, we toppped the night off with sangria and tapas at Granada.  I’d been before, and likewise the first time, it was just ok – the food kind of missed the mark.  The sangria was delicious though, and was a great way to finish off a lovely weekend.

Have a great week!

4 comments
    • thank you! i love winding down the week with a bit of pottering around the kitchen 🙂

Leave a Reply

